Manage Your Subscription

An Azure account consists of Azure subscription information and associated services. This section describes how to:

Assign initial account admins

Users that have the Contributor or Owner role on the Azure Databricks workspace in the Azure portal can sign in as account admins by clicking Launch Workspace. For more details, see Managing access using RBAC in the Azure portal.

../../_images/azure-portal-iam-permissions.png

The user that created the workspace typically has the Contributor or Owner role on the workspace. If no account admin can log into the workspace (for example, because they are no longer in your Active Directory), your subscription administrator can grant account admin access by assigning the Contributor or Owner role.

After account admins sign in to Azure Databricks, they can add other users (admin and non-admin) in the Admin Console.

Warning

The Contributor or Owner role should not be assigned to users that should not have admin access to the workspace.

Upgrade or Downgrade an Azure Databricks Workspace

Azure Databricks is available with two pricing options, Standard and Premium, which offer features for different types of workloads. You specify an option when you create an Azure Databricks Workspace. If you change your mind about the features you want in the Workspace, you can change its pricing tier. This section describes how to upgrade an Azure Databricks workspace from Standard to Premium and downgrade from Premium to Standard. You can perform an upgrade or downgrade using the Azure portal, an Azure Resource Manager (ARM) template, or the Azure REST API and CLI.

Note

  • The procedures described here apply only to workspaces that have received no customizations (apart from custom CIDR ranges); they do not apply, for example, to workspaces created in your own VNet.
  • Notebooks, users, and cluster configurations are retained when you upgrade or downgrade a workspace, but active clusters might be terminated.

Azure portal

To upgrade or downgrade the Azure Databricks workspace pricing option in the Azure portal, use the same procedure that you use to create new Databricks workspaces.

If a Standard workspace already exists, re-create it as a Premium workspace with the same parameters that were used for the Standard workspace:

  • Name
  • Subscription
  • Resource Group (If a new resource group was created when the workspace was originally deployed, choose that as the existing resource group during upgrade)
  • Location

For Pricing Tier, select Premium.

For example, let’s say you originally created a Standard workspace with the following parameters:

../../_images/standard-ws.png

To upgrade to Premium, you would re-create the workspace using the following parameters:

../../_images/upgrade-to-premium-ws.png

To downgrade from Premium to Standard, follow the same procedure and select the Standard Pricing Tier.

ARM template

To upgrade, use either the base template or custom CIDR range template, depending on what was used for the Standard workspace. Re-create the workspace with exactly the same parameters (including the same CIDR range if you used the custom CIDR range template). Set the pricingTier parameter to Premium.

To downgrade from Premium to Standard, follow the same procedure and set the pricingTier to Standard.

REST API/CLI

To upgrade, use the Azure API to re-create the workspace with exactly the same parameters as the Standard workspace, specifying the sku property as Premium. To use the API, you must register a client application with Azure AD and get an access token.

You can also perform the upgrade using the Azure CLI Resource Update command. You won’t need to register a client application or get an access token separately.

To downgrade from Premium to Standard, follow the same procedure and specify the sku property as Standard.

Delete an Azure Databricks service

To delete an Azure Databricks service:

  1. Log into your Azure Databricks workspace as the account owner (the user who created the service), and click the user profile Account Icon icon at the top right.

    ../../_images/manage-account.png
  2. Select Manage Account.

    ../../_images/azure-databricks-service.png
  3. In the Azure Databricks service, click Azure Delete and then OK.

Cancel an Azure subscription

To cancel your Azure subscription, see Cancel your subscription for Azure.